Skinny Fat

I want to point out that I stole the title of this post from a very cool running buddy named Karen. She dropped this phrase during a run, and I think it’s classic.

Since I started running, I’ve almost completely stopped going to the gym. By the time I get home from work, go run and come home, I’m ready to eat a pound of pasta not lift weights.

Although I burn a lot of calories running, I’m not really building any muscle doing long, slow miles.

I have skeleton arms and my  is derriere rapidly disappearing.

I’m what Karen would call “skinny fat.”

Now I don’t need to be a brick house, but I can’t go on like this. With no muscle and no tan, I’m in no shape to sport a swim suit this summer (which will come early for me with this Southern weather).

I’m making a pact with all of my readers to hit the gym. I’m going to have a bicep again if it means strapping dumbells to my arms all day.

12 comments on “Skinny Fat

  1. Well today’s you’re lucky day then!! No running group means you can come to the gym with me and get your swoll on!!!

  2. I used to be skinny fat too… Try pushups in the office and call it good. I’m happiest at about 150-200 a day. Ride a bike for the butt.

    Good luck with the gym – I hate the gym.

    • Great advice! I’ve thought about investing in a bike since the weather seems to suite that hobby well. I’m not going to lie, push ups scare me. I’ll give it a try, though. Thanks!

      • My pleasure. With the push ups, start slow – three sets of ten or fifteen and work up from there. That’s how I started last winter and before I knew it I was up to four or five sets of 40.

        Bikes are AWESOME!

        I almost forgot, you’re right on about the running buddies. I belong to a rather large running club myself and I don’t know what I’d do without them.

      • It’s crazy how motivated I can get to run but when it comes to the cross training, I struggle so much. I’m going to work on the push ups. Don’t be surprised if you find a post complaining about how sore I am.

        This is the first time I’ve ran with a group outside college, and I LOVE IT!

  3. I learned the term “skinny fat” from my Oxygen magazine. I was great at cross-training until I started my business as a dog runner. At first it was a lack of energy as I adjusted to the increase in mileage each week. Now, it’s a combination of time and lack of motivation as my business continues to grow. I too, am becoming skinny fat 😦 My weights are “weighting” for me in the garage… perhaps when I am over this cold we will become reunited.

  4. Pingback: Waddling | Cotton T Runners

  5. I used to lift a couple of days a week but stopped when I started running (and I run exclusively outside, which was rare for our winters). I haven’t been noticing certain body changes, but I did notice a weight “plateau” cleared for me when I started regularly running. Tracking what I eat on Livestrong helps; thanks for inspiring me to start hitting the gym/weights once a week:)

  6. I think I’m what you would call “skinny fat.” I run all the time and everyone I know, including my mother, makes fun of my lack of butt. I’ve started doing lunges and push ups after runs though… here’s hoping it works?

    • For a butt you can bounce quarters off of, ride a mountian bike or a road bike – mountain bike being the best – just make sure you get fitted (very important).

  7. Pingback: My Future and the Foam Roller | Cotton T Runners

Leave a comment